The Greater of Great


How glorious a greeting the sun gives the mountains!
 ~John Muir

I can only imagine what John Muir, the Scottish born,American Naturalist, who lived a good part of his life in the wilderness, was looking at when he wrote these words.  Perhaps it was one morning when he awoke while working on a sheep ranch in California, or while watching the sun set in the Yosemite valley during one of his exploration trips.  In any event much of John Muir’s life was spent in “studying the inventions of God” as he put it, and I am sure the sun was a big part of that study as he explored the nature that he loved from 1867 until his death in 1914.

The Sun…we long for it on cloudy days when it hides from us, yet when we are driving into its setting brightness at day end we often don’t appreciate it, and with good reason!
Since the sun sometimes seems to become so bright just before it sets, it is often difficult to see anything very far ahead of us and that makes driving hazardous.

This was my experience a couple of days ago when I had enjoyed a beautiful sunny day and began driving home headed west.  The sun in all its bright glory was beginning to descend, outlining the mountains with threads of light and bringing John Muir’s quote to life in my mind.

I love the beautiful sunsets we often have the joy of experiencing here in the Pacific Northwest and, like John Muir, I have often captured their beauty in words or photographs while sitting on a beach or relaxing at home.
However, today, the sunset was not something I was enjoying, as it was inhibiting my driving and even though I had my sun visor down my visibility was so limited I nearly ran a red light!

Thankfully I was able to arrive home safely without any mishaps and I immediately I set out to search for a pair of sunglasses to put in the car for the next time I might have a similar encounter with my sunny friend in the west.   I also decided to do a search online for some facts on this great light, the Sun, which is one of the wondrous works of God.
I invite you to check out these links to see the interesting information I found on the Sun at
“Windows to the Universe”— a site by the National Earth Science Teachers Association and
“Universe Today”–A List of Ten Interesting Facts about the Sun

Then God made two great lights: the greater light to rule the day, and the lesser light to rule the night.
Genesis 1:16 [NKJV]

You might also want to read more about John Muir at:John Muir Biography

Leave a Reply

