Amazing Animals and Elephant Ears


“We Give Books” http://www.wegivebooks.org/ is a free website that enables anyone with access to the Internet to put books in the hands of children who don’t have them, simply by reading online.

I signed up, free, at this website because I love to read and children’s books are no exception.  I  read them to my grand-children or just read them for myself to gain valuable information and every book I read is then donated to a child in need.
It’s a win-win situation all the way around !

This morning I read a book online titled “Amazing Animals Q & A” written by David Burnie.  The book is described as “Everything you never knew about the animal kingdom” and is written for children aged 8-10, however, I am much older than that, and I was very fascinated by all the facts it presented !
The book had so much interesting information on animals that one could spend many days researching all the topics it included.  I would recommend it to anyone who is interested in learning more about all the amazing animals God created.

As I read it was hard to focus on just one animal, but it so happened that the page about “Elephant Ears” did seem to catch my attention more than most. I was amazed to read that an African Elephant’s ears can grow to 6 feet high and 3 feet wide!  Amazing!  Their ears are used to keep them cool but are also so highly sensitive they can hear very low pitched sounds. On my next visit to the Oregon Zoo I will definitely be sure to check out the African elephant they have there so I can see those big ears in person !

My reading on Elephant Ears  also reminded me of a fun cooking project my grand-daughters and I did a few weeks ago.  We made edible “Elephant Ears”. They were a tasty treat and one which I hope to make again.
My youngest grand-daughter said she came up with the idea after eating an “Elephant Ear” at the fair last year.  Her version was to use 8″ flour tortillas, put them in a deep fryer, one at a time until light brown and crispy, remove, drain and sprinkle each with a mixture of cinnamon and sugar.
Yum !  So good for a mid-morning snack !
I would have to say that “Elephant Ears” whether real or homemade are truly quite amazing !

Check out these links:
We Give Books–Amazing Animals Q&A:
http://www.wegivebooks.org/books/amazing-animals-qanda

Victoria’s Amazing Elephant Ear Recipe with Photos:
 http://hubpages.com/hub/Victorias-Amazing-Elephant-Ears

Leave a Reply

